2024 Awards Chapel Service

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned. For as in one body we have many members,[e] and the members do not all have the same function, so we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another. Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith; if service, in our serving; the one who teaches, in his teaching; the one who exhorts, in his exhortation; the one who contributes, in generosity; the one who leads, with zeal; the one who does acts of mercy, with cheerfulness. Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good. Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor. – Romans 12:1-10 (ESV)


Last week was the annual Awards Chapel Service. The service opened with an Invocation and Welcome by Headmaster Mr. Timothy Belk and a Hymn of Praise, Be Thou My Vision. The Scripture Reading was given by Head Prefect Kayden Noel. The greeting from the Board of Trustees was given by Chairman of the Board, Robert Bradley III, and the Conferring of Academic Awards was presented by Dean of Academics, Mr. Kristopher Loper. The list of awards and awardees are as follows:


Faculty & Alumni Recognitions:

The 2024 Katie Wiens Excellence in Teaching Award was won by Dr. Mike Milway


The Alumni Recognition Award winner for 2024 is Udoka Ubiora, Class of 2012.


The Zach Anzalone Foundation Scholarship

We are excited to announce the creation of a new scholarship opportunity at BTA. The Zachary Anzalone Foundation scholarship has been established to honor the memory of Zachary Anzalone. In order to honor his memory, his family has set up a scholarship fund with 3 awards, 2 to be given to senior students and 1 to a rising freshman. The freshman award will be made in June.


The award winners will embody the traits and valies that made Zachary such a beloved son and brother. The ideal candidates embody strong character traits aligned with the foundations’s values, come from supportive family backgrounds, and demonstrate personal respect, love and appreciation for speaking up for those who need support. This year’s winners are Seniors Kayden Noel and Yordania Peguero.


The Department awards are listed below:

Marie Crandall World Language Awards

  • Middle School – Alina Graham ’28

  • 9th/10th – Jacob Kielsmeier-Jones ’26

  • 11th/12th – Ivunanya Princewill Utchay ’25

Visual Arts

  • Middle School – Joli Clark ’28

  • 9th/10th – Anna Wang ’26

  • 11th/12th – Sean Anzalone ’24


  • Middle School – Lucy Decosimo

  • 9th/10th – Emma Hurst ’26

  • 11th/12th – Sophia Comiso ’24


  • Middle School – Lucas Bailey ’28

  • 9th/10th – Hugh Tate ’26

  • 11th/12th – Cindy Yao ’25


  • Middle School – Chensuo “Kevin” Liang ’28

  • 9th/10th – Gabriel Wang ’26

  • 11th/12th – John Li ’24


  • Middle School – Nora Decosimo ’28

  • Upper School – Elsa Tate ’24

Bible and Humanities

  • Middle School – Charlie Tahaney ’28

  • 9th/10th – Myles Decosimo ’26

  • 11th/12th – Daliya Smith (Awarded for the best Senior Symposium project comprising both the presentation and the final paper)


The major school awards were conferred by Tim Belk, Headmaster. They are as follows:


  • The Middle School Performing Arts Award – Joseph Marchionni ’29

  • The Middle School Board of Trustees Award – Chensuo “Kevin” Liang ’28

  • The Rebekah Guerra Citizenship Award – Paula Banigbe ’28

  • Athlete of the Year (Female) – Savannah Booker ’25

  • Athlete of the Year (Male) – Gabe Glover ’24

  • The Upper School Performing Arts Award – Joseph Yi ’24

  • The Upper School Board of Trustees Award – Iliana Sakellariou ’24

  • The Frank Guerra Citizenship Award – Abby Hill ’24



Junior Book Prizes:

  • The Brandeis Book Prize – Patrick Webb

  • The Gordon College Faithful Leadership Book Prize – Savannah Booker

  • The Harvard Book Prize – Emerson Maury

  • The Dr. Michael Chen Leadership and Social Justice Book Prize – Therese Franks


Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to follow us on social media!

Main News